RELEASE DATE: June 15, 2018
More information about Yard Sale
  1. It’s a Doggone Shame 03:31
  2. Media is Filling Up My Mind 03:20
  3. Heart and Bones 04:58
  4. Highest Mountain 04:37
  5. Dusty Old Strings 03:42
  6. On My Own 03:04
  7. Above Ground Swimming Pool 03:24
  8. Red Blooded Man 04:13
  9. Every Day 03:38 **

Purchase this Album

Roots experimentalists in the tradition of The Band, Neil Young, Dr. Dog, and Old Crow Medicine Show, Yard Sale’s fluent playing and roughhewn, uncorrected vocal virtuosity often transcends folk, approaching the sophistication of casual chamber music, but always in the service of sturdy, eccentric and emotionally stirring songs. Like the best of today’s smart indie Americana artists (including some of their Team Love Records label mates), Yard Sale plays freely with American myth, haunted spirits, and weird old styles, but does so in a way that is less groomed than many of their steadfastly retro peers.

Yard Sale is so named because they got their start playing on the back of a pickup truck at yard sales, taking a cut in exchange for the buyers they attracted, a habit that led to them eventually auctioning off their own possessions at club gigs until they ran out of stuff to sell. Playing progressive, Catskills folk, Yard Sale draws inevitable comparisons to home-region heroes Levon Helm and the Band. Like The Band, Yard Sale features one transplanted southerner in South Carolinian Taylor Davis (banjo/drums), a few native Canadians in Charlie Schikowitz (mandolin/fiddle) and Theo Schikowitz (upright bass), as well as one native New Yorker in Rick Birmingham (guitar/fiddle).

Yard Sale will release Every Day on vinyl and compact disc via Bandcamp, and the digital album worldwide via Team Love Records, on June 15, 2018.