RELEASE DATE: March 6, 2007
More information about GRUFF RHYS
  1. This Is Just The Beginning
  2. Candylion
  3. The Court Of King Arthur
  4. Lonsome Words
  5. Cycle Of Violence
  6. Painting People Blue
  7. Beacon In The Darkness
  8. Con Carino
  9. Gyrru Gyrru Gyrru
  10. Now That The Feeling Is Gone
  11. Ffrwydriad Yn Y Ffurfafen
  12. Skylon!

Purchase this Album

“Candylion" took form in the spring of 2006 over a fragmented 2 week period at Gorwel Owen’s Ofn studio in Llanfaelog, Wales. My ears were happily ringing from a few months touring with the Super Furry Animals and I had a batch of mellower acoustic songs I wanted to record quickly and get out of the way before the next speaker-blowing SFA record. Once in the studio however I got carried away and found myself in a nostalgic mood, pining for some of the music I grew up listening to.

Candylion was raised by bears in Micronesia. Trained as a chef in Paris and following a City & Guilds diploma in desk top publishing at Tregoedwig polytechnic transformed himself into a card assembly image of his former self and arranged for the kind lady at the post depot to mail him back flatpack to his bear brothers and sisters. Safely back in the palm forest he was given lessons in exotic guitar pickin' by a passing oxymoron. He is currently recording his first album.