Rig 1 – Above the Tree Line West of the Periodic

Above The Tree Line West of the Periodic will be in stores this October to coincide with a few weeks of dates opening up for Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band.

The realm of rap and the cosmos, the OUTER SPACE where Sun Ra and George Clinton pointed the young pups’ gaze to the sky…but pushing a mop bucket down an empty hall under dusted florescent lights slowly digesting generations of dead flies; Rig 1 was unable to see the stars and turned his quest to understand our place in the universe back in on the Self. Rather then explore the outer ring he opted to polish the double-helix, scrub the electrons and map the infinite space between particles, the space between the wall and the fist, the small hairs and ocular freeways that inform the mind, that text-book-answers are an easy option, but not the only path.

Rig 1, a Midwestern endeavor 10 years in the making, started in the jammed-in-the deck 36 Chambers cassette, melting behind the dashboard controls in the baking sun, windows up tight, air choking and abandoned; Rig 1 started in the janitor’s closet, in the bag of E’s in the top drawer, in the notion that inner-space has no mirrors, only manifestations of will.

Tour Dates

Wed Nov 05 Boston,, MA The Roxy
Thu Nov 06 Northampton, MA Academy of Music
Fri Nov 07 Grantham, PA Messiah College
Mon Nov 10 Washington, DC 9:30 Club
Wed Nov 12 Richmond, VA The National
Thu Nov 13 Asheville, NC Orange Peel
Fri Nov 14 Atlanta, GA Variety Playhouse
Sat Nov 15 Hilton Head Island, SC Shoreline Ballroom
Sun Nov 16 Orlando, FL Anti*Pop Music Festival 08
Tue Nov 18 Fort Lauderdale, FL Culture Room
Wed Nov 19 St. Petersburg, FL Jannus Landing
Thu Nov 20 New Orleans, LA The Republic

Listen to

Out the Periphery (mp3)
Dirty Little Sica (mp3)

UA-589326-6